British Election Study Team wins Political Studies Association’s (PSA) first ever Pippa Norris Prize

The British Election Study (BES) Team - a partnership between The University of Oxford’s Nuffield College and The University of Manchester – has won the PSA’s inaugural Pippa Norris Prize for its outstanding contribution to advancing knowledge in Political Studies.

The Study’s Scientific Leadership Team comprises Professors Jane Green and Geoffrey Evans (Oxford); Professor Edward Fieldhouse (Manchester) and Dr Jonathan Mellon (WestPoint), and Dr Christopher Prosser (Royal Holloway London), and is supported by Dr Jack Bailey (Manchester).

The BES is an academic project that has examined and analysed every British general election since 1964, first founded by Sir David Butler (Nuffield, Oxford). The subsequent data has aided researchers in understanding changing patterns of party support and election outcomes.

We are delighted to be awarded the Pippa Norris Prize, which recognises the huge benefits of working collaboratively in research.

Since taking on the leadership of BES in 2013, we have been fortunate to be able to develop and communicate a range of new insights about British electoral behaviour.

In analysing the trends in the whole time series of BES data and studying recent upheavals in British politics, we hope to continue to make a positive impact on those working in, or with an interest in, electoral behaviour – both within and also beyond academia.

The British Election Studies Team

The Political Studies Association has been celebrating the very best of political studies through its Academic Prizes for over 30 years, with the award categories recognising outstanding dissertations, books, articles and scholars across the profession.