German Embassy signs agreement with Mansfield College to support the Adam von Trott Scholarship from 2016/17 onwards

Yesterday Tania Freiin von Uslar-Gleichen, Deputy Head of the German Embassy in London, signed a memorandum of understanding with Mansfield College to support their Adam von Trott Scholarship from 2016/17 onwards.

Adam von Trott studied at Mansfield College in 1929 and later joined the German Foreign Office. His life was shaped by his experience of Oxford. He loved his country, but hated the Nazi regime, and with other opponents made plans for post-war Europe. A central figure in the conspiracy to kill Hitler, he was put to death in Berlin in August 1944. 

Adam von Trott’s life and ideas are commemorated by a Scholarship awarded to a German student accepted to study for a two-year Master’s degree in Politics (EPS, Comparative Government, Political Theory) or in International Relations.

At the ceremony to sign the new memorandum of understanding a message from Verena Onken von Trott and Clarita Müller-Plantenberg, Adam von Trott’s daughters, was read: ‘The legacy of our father and his friends can still inspire us when we consider the future of Europe today. They reflected and planned for the rule of law, self-government, decentralisation, minority rights, and policies that provide the space for free and responsible citizenship. These are values for which we still have to struggle.'

Launched six years ago, the Scholarship receives financial support from Mansfield College, the Department of Politics and International Relations, and the Adam von Trott Memorial Appeal at Mansfield College.  From now on it is an aim of the Adam von Trott Committee that the award should be made annually.  

From academic year 2016/17 onwards the German Foreign Office will contribute substantially towards the scholarship in order to strengthen British-German understanding and friendship, to increase and intensify the links between the Oxford partners with Germany and German scholars and to foster the memory of Adam von Trott as an outstanding individual.

Scholars to whom it has been awarded are Diana Koester (2010), Bernhard Clemm (2012) and David Hagebölling (2014).  You can read a report by David on his 2014-15 year by clicking here.

If you would like to apply for the Adam von Trott Scholarship yourself, you can find out how to do so on the bottom of this page:

If you think you might like to donate to this scholarship and help to further this important funding resource, you can find more information here: