Recognition of Distinction creates four new full professorships

As part of the Recognition of Distinction Scheme 2020, the title of full professor at the University of Oxford has been conferred on Jane Gingrich, Professor of Comparative Political Economy; Todd H. Hall, Professor of International Relations; Zofia Stemplowska, Professor of Political Theory and David Doyle, Professor of Comparative Politics.


The Recognition of Distinction awards are designed to recognise academic excellence and the Department is delighted to offer its congratulations to Professors Gingrich, Hall and Doyle. Nick Owen and Petra Schleiter, Joint Heads of the Department, said: ‘These are wonderful achievements and we are delighted to have four new Professors in the Department’.

Jane Gingrich studies comparative political economy and comparative social policy; in particular, the restructuring of the welfare state, and the politics of institutional change more broadly. Todd Hall’s research interests extend to the areas of international relations theory; the intersection of emotion, affect, and foreign policy; as well as Chinese foreign policy. Stemplowska works on the problem of what people owe to each other as a matter of domestic, global and historical justice, and is also interested in the debate about ideal and non-ideal theory. David Doyle’s general research and teaching interests include comparative politics and comparative political economy. He is currently working on tax morale in Latin America and the political effect of migrant remittances.