The Department is led by a series of academic office holders


Heads of Department

Joint Heads of Department: Professor Petra Schleiter and Dr Nicholas Owen


Teaching leadership

Director Graduate Studies: Politics: Dr Daniel Butt

Director Graduate Studies: International Relations: Professor Richard Caplan

Director Undergraduate Studies: Dr Paul Martin

Sub-Faculty Chair: Professor Ricardo Soares de Oliveira

Course Director: Theory: Dr Stuart White

Course Director: Comparative Government: Professor Robin Harding

Course Director: European Politics and Society: Professor Alexander Kuo

Course Director: International Relations: Professor Louise Fawcett

Director Methods Training: Politics: Professor David Rueda

Director Methods Training: International Relations: Professor Patricia Owens

Director Graduate Students' Professional Training & Academic Lead: Equality, Diversity and Inclusion: Professor Ezequiel Gonzalez Ocantos

Research leadership

Research Director: Professor David Doyle

Research Network Convenor: Political Theory: Dr Sophie Smith

Research Network Convenor: Government: Professor Radoslaw Zubek

Research Network Convenor: International Relations: Professor Neta Crawford


Harassment Officers: Professor Paul BillinghamDr Kate Sullivan de Estrada